InstructorsStudentsReviewersAuthorsBooksellersContact Us
image
DisciplineHome
TextbookHome
Resource Centers
Bookstore
Textbook Site for:
Management Accounting: A Business Planning Approach
Noah P. Barsky, Villanova University
Anthony H. Catanach, Jr., Villanova University
Weblinks

Chapter 1 - Business Strategy and Management Accounting
Business Beacon: Regulatory Watchdogs Protect Investors
Enron (http://www.enron.com)
Rite Aid (http://www.riteaid.com)
Sunbeam (http://www.sunbeam.com)
Xerox (http://www.xerox.com)
Waste Management (http://www.wm.com)
WorldCom (http://www.mci.com)
Main Text:
Delta Airlines (http://www.delta.com)
Ford Motor Company (http://www.ford.com)
Firestone (http://www.bridgestone-firestone.com)
Microsoft (http://www.microsoft.com)
United Air Lines (http://www.united.com)
U.S. Airways (http://www.usairways.com)
Krispy Kreme Donuts (http://www.krispykreme.com)
Southwest Airlines (http://www.southwest.com)
Federal Express (http://www.fedex.com)
United Parcel Service (http://www.ups.com)
Starbucks Coffee Company (http://www.starbucks.com)

Chapter 2 - Business Processes in the Twenty-First Century
Business Beacon: Cisco's Virtual Close
Cisco Systems (http://www.cisco.com)
Business Beacon: How Federal Express Creates Value for Customers
Federal Express (http://www.fedex.com)
Main Text:
International Business Machines (IBM) (http://www.ibm.com)
Penley Golf Company (http://www.penleygolf.com)
Frito-Lay (http://www.fritolay.com)
Northwest Airlines (http://www.nwa.com)
The Train Grande Vitesse (http://www.raileurope.com/us/rail/tgv/index.htm)
The Gap (http://www.gap.com)
Land's End (http://www.landsend.com)
Mayflower Van Lines (http://www.mayflower.com)
United Parcel Service (http://www.ups.com)
Coca-Cola (http://www.cocacola.com)

Chapter 3 - Evaluating Financial Performance
Business Beacon: Pro Forma Financial Statement Abuse
JDS Uniphase Corporation (http://www.jdsu.com)
Main Text:
Dun & Bradstreet (http://www.dnb.com)

Chapter 4 - Business Processes and Risks
Business Beacon: Managing Risk to Drive Value
Ernst & Young (http://www.ey.com)
Business Beacon: Managing Customer Satisfaction Risk
Marvin Windows (http://www.marvin.com)
Pittsburgh Paint and Glass (PPG) (http://www.ppg.com)

Chapter 5 - Planning Profitable Operations
Business Beacon: Hitting a Homerun on the Income Statement
The Saint Paul Saints (http://www.spsaints.com)

Chapter 6 - Forecasting Tools and Techniques
Business Beacon: Brewery Goes Flat Due to Faulty Sales Forecasting
Catamount Brewery/Harpoon Brewery (http://www.harpoonbrewery.com)
Business Beacon: Costs Mean Jobs!
Louisiana-Pacific Corporation (http://www.lpcorp.com)
Main Text:
Domino's (http://www.dominos.com)
Pizza Hut (http://www.pizzahut.com)
Papa John's (http://www.papajohns.com)
John Deere (http://www.johndeere.com)

Chapter 7 - Budgeting Fundamentals
Business Beacon: How Do Online Retailers Maintain Such Huge Inventories?
Circuit City (http://www.circuitcity.com)
Alliance Entertainment (http://www.aent.com)

Chapter 8 - Analyzing and Using Budgets
Business Beacon: Variance Analysis at Conoco
Conoco (http://www.conocophillips.com)

Chapter 9 - Performance Evaluation and Decision-Making
Business Beacon: The Balanced Scorecard Hall of Fame
The Balanced Scorecard Collaborative (http://www.bscol.com)
BMW (http://www.bmw.com)
Hilton Hotels (http://www.hilton.com)
AT&T Canada (http://www.att.com/canada)
Wendy's (http://www.wendys.com)
United Parcel Service (http://www.ups.com)
Fulton County Schools (http://www.fultonschools.org)
Main text:
Saatchi & Saatchi (http://www.saatchi.com)
Dell (http://www.dell.com)
Gateway (http://www.gateway.com)
Apple Computer (http://www.apple.com)

Chapter 10 - Analyzing Costs at the Customer and Process Level
Business Beacon: The Marines are Looking for a Few Good Accounting Tools
USMC Center for Business Excellence (http://lrhome.hqmc.usmc.mil/busplan1.nsf/main?openframeset)




BORDER=0
BORDER="0"